Indigo by Accident

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

a few leaves from a broken branch

I was out there spreading compost on the freshly churned up patch in the garden, when I lifted a branch of an indigo plant, and it came off in my hand. Good golly. I wanted to make a big fat vat, and here was a little old branch, wilting.

Well, as you may or may not know, an indigo vat is made with fresh indigo leaves. Not old dried out cruddy leaves. Nice fresh ones. So, I stood there, in the garden, holding my branch, thinkin’ “Jim.”

By the time I got in the house, Jim had posted to my Instantface, to ask how my indigo was doing. In brief, I didn’t have much to work with, and Jim said the plants needed to be in flower to have pigment goin’ on. So I went to my friendly Google, and ended up following some basic instructions: stick leaves in a blender with cold water, blend, strain, use. And that is what I did.

The fiber is GCN Patty – from a batt that had taken up exhaust from a madder pot. In other words…it was barely off-white. HA! I washed the batt with Namaste Farms Wash & Dye Bastard, did not rinse, and dipped it.

It has been soaking for about an hour. Pretty. I am jazzed that these plants have some color locked in their leaves. Gotta go fertilize em one more time!

2 thoughts on “Indigo by Accident

Leave a Reply

