TDF Day #4 Corespinning?

First Go at Corespinning ~ “Little Mud”

I get it! I get it! I didn’t understand before, but now, I DO!

Corespinning is a way to really show off a most excellent pile of gawjus fiber. Spin a killer beauty of a batt, and not one single fiber will be hidden as the “center” of the yarn. It’s ALL on the outside.

That said…the batt really should be a killer beauty.

My fiber was killer beautiful…Gulf Coast Native dyed with coreopsis, with marigold, with indigo, and with some purple acid dye, rabbit, and mohair too. But…I sorta overcarded this pile of beautiful stuff…and turned it into mud. Boo on me.

Still…I’m delighted to have spun a successful, soft, balanced 22 yards of corespun naturally dyed (for the most part) fiber. I used superwash merino for the core. Blecch, that stuff is so bizarre. But, it makes a fabulous core!

Alrighty, then. Time to move along to the next technique in jacey boggs’ lovely book, spin art.

Leave a Reply

