Curly B Lumpkin

Curly Baa-Baa Lumpkin

Curly was our bummer lamb. He is our first bottle baby. I guess I stopped blogging right after the lambs were born…and I’ll let y’all in on a secret…it was that I had to become a sheep. Yep. Sally, his mama, decided that she didn’t want her firstborn all that much. She decided she’d like to keep Bing, ol #2, because…well…if you look back at the baby pictures…you see his black hornbuds? Well…that dude is a DUDE. Curly on the other hand, well, he grows little scurs that he bumps off. He’s chubby and sweet, not pushy and shovey. (We had him wethered.) He wore diapers around the house…yes, the house, for several weeks.  Sally acted as if she didn’t want to waste her milk on Curly. The flock didn’t want him around.

Well, now, here’s the thing. He’s been our bottle baby, and he still gets a couple baa baas a day…because he loves the love part…and he comes for walks…and gets along with Smitty our blue heeler…and he comes when he’s called…and…ok…I brag a little…Thing is…he is now the leader of the flock. He takes them for walks…shows them stuff that we show him…like where the best blackberries are…like where the new grass is…stuff like that. So…they’re appreciating him more…letting him hang with them more every day.

Interesting to see our little boy growing up.

3 thoughts on “Curly B Lumpkin

  1. Oh, what a sweetheart. My wool is still in the box, but I want to wash it up and start spinning. I think I’ll wash it by the lock and comb it. It’s just so beautiful. Thank you for sending me such a nice sample–and when you were so busy, too!

  2. I am glad you had the chance to be so close to Curly. No wonder he doesn’t want to stop the baa-baas. As a former LLL Leader, I am all for feeding as long as the baby wants it, ha ha ha. He does seem like a smart boy, even if his bio mom didn’t appreciate him.

Leave a Reply

