Sally Sample 12yd qtr oz tdf day 11

After an official Tour Rest Day, the desire to spin more more more!!!! is driving me. With several nice Gulf Coast fleeces to pick from…all raw…I’m at the point of sampling. The goal is to spin enough to make a sweater – couple of pounds would be prudent. Unlike the Gracie sweater, which I designed for Tom, this sweater is for me…and I have a pattern (!) I’d like to use. The New Zealand Sweater, from Spun Out #2 is an Elizabeth Zimmerman pattern from 1982.

Zimmerman shows 3 versions of the sweater done up in different yarns: 1) in Sheepsdown (2-3 sts/in), 2) in Shetland (6-10 sts/in), and 3) in Sheepswool (3-4.5 sts/in). I’m leaning towards the Sheepswool version. So, in sampling, I need to keep these figures in mind. Sheepswool comes in either a 2-ply (4 – 4.5 sts/in) or a 3-ply (3-3.5 sts/in).

The little sample in the photo shows “Sally” (GC ewe) spun 2-ply worsted, 12 yds/quarter oz. I knit a preliminary gauge swatch to see if this is in the ball park. Unwashed yarn knit up at about 4 sts/in. I’ve since washed the yarn, it has bloomed, and I’ll knit the entire quarter oz up on size 8 circs to get an accurate reading. I want lightweight (I’m old enough to avoid any further sagging), lofty, soft/springy yarn.

So, that’s what I’ll be doing for the next bit. I’m also going to spin up some “Holly” (Sally’s twin who is as yellow as Sally is grey) to compare. I’ve decided against using the lamb for this sweater…rather I’ll save that for a next-to-the-skin project.

Ciao!

Leave a Reply

