Creeker

When I lived in the Santa Cruz Mountains, in the wagon train days of the late ’70s, I knit a scarf that I adored. It was knit from handspun singles as thick as your thumb. Sort of an oatmeal color. What a great scarf. Maybe I can find a picture of it. I wish I still had it around, but I don’t. In 1982, I left it at in the changing room at a ballet class. The next week, I had an injury that took me off my feet for a year and a half. By the time I went back to ballet class, my favorite scarf had been found by someone else.

So, here we are. I’m trying to spin fat enough to recreate that little piece of art. Woo! Fun! Here’s the process…

Not Thumb-Sized Singles Yarn 

The great thing about my Fricke is that the orifice (see that triangular loop in the lower right?) is completely non-restrictive. I’m using the standard flyer, here, and still, am able to spin fat. The flyer hook and the loop are about 1/2″ in diameter, so these become the limiters in the equation. So…starting with ultra-pre-drafted handpainted roving (I found some nice mohair blend in the chest, and I still had a couple jars of acid dye from a session a few decades back), very low tension, and a very slow foot, I managed to spin 60 yards of pretty darn fat and fluffy singles yarn with that 4 ounces of roving.

Soft

Doesn’t this look soft? Well, it is. Like a powder puff. Remember powder puffs? Anyway, this is one bobbin full…about 2 oz, and 30 yards. I spun the second half of the roving and then, yes, knit the scarf.

Creeker Scarf

This will be embellished just a little bit. Some felt balls on the end, I think. Fancier than my old Boulder Creek scarf, but just as light and lush and warm. Don’t you want one?

Leave a Reply

