Hatting it Up

Funky Hat in Border Leicester and Alpaca/CVM

Inspired by Ray’s Hat, which spontaneously burst from my needles a few weeks back, I wanted to knit a hat that had plush warmth, weight, and a flat top. HA! Okay. That wasn’t hard at all. Here’s the five-sided top of a Funky Hat knit from a super-bulky 2-ply Border Leicester yarn. The breeder of these BL sheep sent me samples of her CVM fleece. I bought the softest, darkest fiber…one that wasn’t actually for sale – but was an example of her finest fleece. Fortunately, the shepherd was as overcommitted as I am, and she let “Gracie” come home to me.  The very dark CVM was blended with black alpaca (ply #1) and plied with a thick and thin Border Leicester single. This “beginner’s mind” yarn “outlines” this hat in more ways that one. This hat is a paean to all that shepherd love at Pheasantfield Farm in Chestertown, Maryland.

Here’s another view…not the greatest picture…I can’t get that lovely outside light, because, well, I’m a wimp. It is too cold for me to be staging hat photos, today.

A bit too soft-focus, but you get the idea.

This morning, I knit another hat using this model. It has a “fur” yarn integrated in the band, and the crown is six-sided. It’s vermilion. You’ll have to wait til tomorrow for a picture. Sorry.

A pdf of the pattern will be available for sale on etsy in a day or two. I want comments back from my testers before it’s released.

2 thoughts on “Hatting it Up

  1. Can I be a hat pattern beta-tester…please? 🙂 If that works for you, I’d love to try it on the Bron-gora yarn… Hugs!

Leave a Reply

