february w o o l work

newyarnsfeb09

l-r: alpaca/gulfcoast, “hyacinth” corrie/mohair, “rosa” alpaca/gulfcoast, “wildberry” corrie/mohair

Here are a few yarns that have sprung from the Fricke of late. Yes, I know. Look at the colors. Yes. I know. I found a bag with a bunch of old acid dyes. I tried em out. They still work. Lots of purple. Oh well. I’ll live. I did use plant dyes too. The yellows – look for yellow/yellowgreen/yelloworange – are from the jar of turmeric Denise M gave me. A mason jar full.

Yesterday, I dyed. One pound of the mohair blend roving. Last night, I spun half of it. Today I knit and felted. So…for this post…let’s look at “hyacinth.”

Hyacinth? Well…here’s the handpainted roving…you can’t see much of the turmeric…but there were some nice chatreuse spots…

hyacinth-handpainted1

And here it is split and fluffed…

hyacinth-roving-fluffed

And spun into 2 2oz bobbins of soft fat singles – 182 yds altogether.

hyacinth-on-the-fricke

Enough for…a felted bag! Ah! or Ha! As the case may be.

hyacinth-bag-bstunfs

Here’s the bag, freshly knit.

hyacinthbagfelted

And here it is, stuffed with plastic bags, drying.

Leave a Reply

