sweater & socks. soon.

This yarn, all 1200 yards of 2-ply Gulf Coast Native that I spindlespun from a Running Moon Farm fleece, was meant to be Tom’s sweater last winter. However, along came another fleece, a flock mate, if you please, and well, the color was just perfect for him…and I started to analyze the yarn, and looked back at all the samples I’d knit…and, of course, there was something to be desired. Soooooo, I decided…to start spinning again.

I’ve been bad, kids. I have spun one spindleful. Had the best of intentions, I really did. But summer came and that was that. The gardens just suck up the ol’ time. And now, I look at the calendar, and it’s going on the end of August. And, well, Christmas is just around the corner, isn’t it? 

 

This is the stuff. Here’s my one measly spindleful. It’s lovely, it really is.

I just have to look at it with a fair amount of focus. The stuff is soft, and so brown, such a luscious chocolate brown…how can I resist. Tom is going to be just thrilled come the cold weather. And boy will he look great!

Ok, then. I’m ready. Starting, say, tomorrow. After the rest of the peas are planted. Ahem.

 

This, well, this is some delightful stuff. This was a gift from a spinner who is moving to this neck of the woods. She loves to blend fiber. This roving is Gulf Coast lamb, bamboo, silk, and kid mohair.

I thought, shoot, this would be awesome dyed with Virginia creeper. Then I thought…aw, wait for the woad. Then I thought, look at the sheen of the natural fiber – it’s kind gorgeous just the way it is.

It’s still roving. Some one of these days, it will be socks. For me. Dyed. Or not.

One thought on “sweater & socks. soon.

Leave a Reply

